top of page
Search
Writer's pictureauldholyroodclub

Crafty time!

If you follow any of The Auld Holyrood Club on Instagram, you’ll probably know that we’re quite a creative bunch. Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve been content as long as I have a craft project to work on. My Nan taught me to cross stitch when I was about 8 years old, and I’ve enjoyed doing it ever since!

About a year ago, I also tried embroidery for the first time and fell in love with it straight away, probably because it involves less counting and is easier on my poor eyes! I tend to lose focus on a project very quickly, which is why I have a bag full of uncompleted projects (though it is my goal this year to finish them all!)

I love how quickly embroidery seems to come together in comparison to cross stitch, I did this one on the way to and from visiting my parents last year.



When I’m not cross stitching or embroidering, I’m probably online looking for new patterns, I love the variation available and love making designs linked to my other interests, or films and TV show’s I like – which is when Pinterest and Etsy can become very dangerous places as I don’t realise how long I’ve been looking for my next pattern.


I find craft projects not only a lovely way to spend an afternoon or evening but are also wonderful for reducing my stress and anxiety, especially when it involves cosying up underneath my patchwork quilt and watching something good on TV!




Do you enjoy cross stitching or embroidery? Or maybe you have an idea of what I should embroider next? Let us know in the comments below and you can see more of my projects on Instagram @laurenlindseyjade


37 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


auldholyroodclub
auldholyroodclub
Feb 18, 2021

Love seeing all your projects, Lauren, you make really beautiful things. You also need to tell us about your fantastic baking next x

Like
Lauren Wilson
Lauren Wilson
Mar 01, 2021
Replying to

Aww thank you! Will definitely look out some recipes to share!

Like

Anya Mackay
Anya Mackay
Feb 18, 2021

Aw you are so talented. These are great. I remember having to do cross stitch at school and I really struggled to see and judge where I had to place my next stitch. Love these. Have you done any vintage style floral embroidery hoops yet? Will have to scour your Instagram x

Like
Lauren Wilson
Lauren Wilson
Mar 01, 2021
Replying to

Aww thank you lovely, it can be fiddly to start with! I haven't done any florals in afraid though I'm sure I've got some patterns somewhere!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page